Community, Corewell Health System

Health & Hospital Association Elects 2021-2022 Officers and Board Members

June 24, 2021

The following news is being shared from MHA/Michigan Health & Hospital Association

LANSING, Mich. — Members of the Michigan Health & Hospital Association (MHA) elected new officers and appointed board members during the association’s virtual Annual Membership Meeting June 24. Officers of the 2021-2022 MHA Board of Trustees include Tina Freese Decker, chair; T. Anthony Denton, chair-elect; and Daniel Babcock, treasurer. The board directs the greater Lansing-based association’s statewide representation of hospitals and healthcare providers.

Freese Decker, president and CEO, Spectrum Health, Grand Rapids, will serve as chair during the association’s 2021-2022 program year beginning July 1. The terms of service of Denton, senior vice president and chief operating officer, University of Michigan Health System, Ann Arbor, and Babcock, CEO, Marlette Regional Hospital and Deckerville Community Hospital, will also span the 2021-2022 program year. Edwin Ness, president and CEO, Munson Healthcare, Traverse City, will serve as immediate past chair.

Beth Charlton, executive vice president and chief nursing officer, Covenant HealthCare, Saginaw, was appointed as a trustee at-large for a three-year term. Gar Atchison, chief executive officer, UP Health System – Marquette, and market president, UP Health System; and Bill Manns, president and CEO, Bronson Healthcare, Kalamazoo, were appointed as trustees at-large for two-year terms.

Reappointed for three-year terms on the 2021-2022 MHA Board of Trustees as trustees at-large were Kenneth Berkovitz, MD, senior vice president, Ascension, and ministry market executive, Ascension Michigan; Robert Riney, president, healthcare operations, and chief operating officer, Henry Ford Health System, Detroit; Diane Postler-Slattery, PhD, president and CEO, MidMichigan Health, Midland; and Shannon Striebich, president, St. Joseph Mercy Oakland, and senior vice president of operations, Trinity Michigan, Pontiac.

Continuing to serve their current terms of service as trustees at-large are Karen Cheeseman, president and CEO, Mackinac Straits Health System, St. Ignace; James Dover, president and CEO, Sparrow

Health System, Lansing; Mark Eastburg, PhD, president and CEO, Pine Rest Christian Mental Health

Services, Grand Rapids; John Fox, president and CEO, Beaumont Health, Southfield; Audrey Gregory, PhD, Group CEO, Detroit Medical Center; Timothy Johnson, president and CEO, Eaton Rapids Medical Center; Gregory R. Lane, executive vice president and chief administrative officer, McLaren Health Care, Grand Blanc; Shelleye Yaklin, president and CEO, North Ottawa Community Health System, Grand Haven; and Julie Yaroch, DO, president, Promedica Charles and Virginia Hickman Hospital, Adrian. In addition, Brian Peters was reappointed to serve an indefinite term of office as CEO of the association.

Based in greater Lansing, the MHA advocates in Michigan and Washington, DC, on behalf of healthcare providers and the communities and patients they serve. The MHA is a nationally recognized leader on initiatives that protect and promote quality, cost-effective and accessible healthcare. To learn more, visit or follow the MHA on Facebook and Twitter.

John Karasinski, MHA
(517) 886-8637,