Community, Reed City Hospital

Spectrum Health Reed City Hospital Honored with Two Awards for Improving Quality

December 18, 2009

Spectrum Health Reed City Hospital was honored by The Michigan Center for Rural Health at an awards ceremony during the 10th Annual Michigan Critical Access Hospital Conference in Boyne Falls, Michigan.  Reed City was honored with two awards – The Quality Improvement Award of Excellence for Emergency Room Transfers and The Inpatient Clinical Quality Improvement Achievement Award for performance in the care and treatment of heart failure and pneumonia.

Spectrum Health Reed City Hospital was awarded for embracing evidence-based medicine to advance systems and processes to improve the quality and safety of care delivered to their patients. In both categories, hospitals self-nominate for the award, and must choose to conduct initiatives in selected clinical areas. These pre-selected clinical areas are designated as national health care priorities by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.

“Award recipients are committed to providing their patients with high quality health care,” said John Barnas, executive director of the Michigan Center for Rural Health. Barnas added, “The Michigan Center for Rural Health is pleased to sponsor this award which is a testament to the dedication of hospital staff to provide the right care to the right patient each and every time.”

The Michigan Center for Rural Health (MCRH) is a non-profit organization formed in 1991 as part of a nation-wide, federal and state initiative to recognize the importance of rural health care and to create a mechanism for resources to flow to rural areas.  Spectrum Health Reed City Hospital is a 25 bed acute care hospital located in Reed City, Michigan that has been recognized for its quality care by the Michigan Quality Improvement Organization and has earned the Governor’s Award of Excellence for Improving Care in the Hospital Setting for 3 consecutive years, the Total Benchmark Solution quality award for 2005 and the 2006 and 2007 VHA Leadership Award for clinical excellence.