Quality, Spectrum Health Hospital Group

Twelve hospitals earn patient safety award

Honors go to hospitals throughout Michigan

March 14, 2018 – In observing National Patient Safety Awareness Week, the EAM announces the recipients of the 2018 EAM Hospital Patient Safety Awards, recognizing hospitals in Michigan consistently performing high marks and improvements in patient safety and quality of care.  This is the third year for the awards.

Hospitals can achieve two different awards, the Excellence Award and the Improvement Award.

Eight hospitals receiving the Excellence Award:

  • Dickinson County Healthcare System, Iron Mountain
  • DMC Huron Valley-Sinai, Commerce Township
  • MidMichigan Medical Center, Midland
  • Spectrum Health Blodgett, Grand Rapids
  • Spectrum Health Butterworth, Grand Rapids
  • Spectrum Health Ludington
  • St. Joseph Mercy Chelsea
  • Michigan Medicine, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Four hospitals receiving the Improvement Award:

  • Lakeland Medical Center, St. Joseph
  • McLaren Macomb Hospital, Mount Clemens
  • St. Joseph Mercy Livingston, Howell
  • St. Joseph Mercy Oakland, Pontiac

“With one in four patients experiencing an adverse event during a hospital visit and the cost of hospital mistakes soaring into the billions, the members of EAM are dedicated more than ever to improving patient safety in the state to help lower health care costs,” declared Bret Jackson, president, EAM.  “We applaud this year’s recipients and thank them for their continued dedication to patient safety and hospital transparency.”

Hospitals receiving the Excellence Award must report to The Leapfrog Group survey for two consecutive years (2016 & 2017) and maintain all “A’s” with Hospital Safety Grade in four consecutive grading terms (Spring 2016, Fall 2016, Spring 2017, Fall 2017).

Hospitals receiving the Improvement Award must report to The Leapfrog Group survey for two consecutive years (2016 & 2017) and show improvement in letter grades for four consecutive grading terms with Hospital Safety Grade (Spring 2016, Fall 2016, Spring 2017, Fall 2017).  During the four terms, the grades must not trend backwards year-to-year.  The last term grade (Fall 2017) must be at least a “B” to qualify and hospitals must improve by two letter grades during the four terms.

How does your hospital score for patient safety?  Find out at www.hospitalsafetygrade.org.

A list of past recipients:  EAM Hospital Patient Safety Award List of Recipients

Spectrum Health is a not-for-profit health system, based in West Michigan, offering a full continuum of care through the Spectrum Health Hospital Group, which is comprised of 12 hospitals, including Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital; 180 ambulatory and service sites; 3,600 physicians and advanced practice providers, including 1,500 members of the Spectrum Health Medical Group; and Priority Health, a health plan that served 996,000 members in fiscal year 2017. Spectrum Health is West Michigan’s largest employer, with 26,000 employees. The organization provided $372 million in community benefit during its 2017 fiscal year. Spectrum Health was named one of the nation’s 15 Top Health Systems—and in the top five among the largest health systems—in 2017 by Truven Health Analytics®, part of IBM Watson HealthTM. This was the sixth time the organization received this recognition.

Bruce Rossman
Media Relations
Office: 616.391.3706
Mobile: 616.443.3242
Email: bruce.rossman@spectrumhealth.org